Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA)

Red Hat Certified Technician, has been re-named Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) to more closely align with the Linux administrator job role that is common in IT organizations around the world.

To ensure this certification meets the needs of IT managers seeking qualified system administrators, Red Hat conducted an extensive survey and analysis of Red Hat certification holders worldwide. This survey sought to identify the most frequent and critical tasks that today’s system administrators perform on the job. This survey helped shape the RHCSA credential, in addition to validating the more senior-level responsibilities that are tested by the RHCE exam. In addition to the survey, Red Hat has continually sought input on the certification program from its certified community through annual RHCE focus group sessions at Red Hat Summit, online focus groups with Red Hat Certified Architects (RHCAs), and informal discussions at RHCE Loopback events. This input has been central to changes made to the overall program in conjunction with the launch of RHCSA.

RHCT certification vs. RHCSA certification

IT professionals who earn a Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT) certification have demonstrated the core system administrator skills that are sought and valued by companies and organizations using Red Hat Enterprise Linux. The job title these professionals typically hold is that of system administrator and job postings seeking their particular set of skills are usually for system administrators. Tellingly, salary surveys indicate that RHCTs earn more than system administrators holding certifications from other programs. In short, the term “technician” sells their skills short. With the launch of Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA), Red Hat will be offering a certification with a title that is far more aligned to usage in the marketplace and reflective of system administration skills.

The competency model of RHCSA is quite similar to that of RHCT. However, there are some Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) competencies that will now become RHCSA and vice versa. This will allow a clear, defined, and simplified certification path, letting organizations make informed decisions based on their existing and future skill-set requirements.

RH124 Red Hat System Administration I

  • GNOME Graphical Desktop
  • Manage Files Graphically with Nautilus
  • Configure Local services
  • Manage Physical Storage I
  • Manage Logical Volumes
  • Monitor System resources
  • Manage System Software
  • Get Started with Bash
  • Get Help in a Textual Environment
  • Eastablish Network connectivty
  • AdministerRemote Systems.
  • Configure General Services
  • Manage Physical Storage II
  • Install Linux Graphically
  • Manage virtual machines
  • Control the boot process
  • Deploy File Sharing Services
  • Secure Network services
  • Comprehensive review

RH134 Red Hat System Administration II

  • Automated Installations of Enterprise Linux
  • Accessing the Command Line
  • Intermediate Command Line Tools
  • Regular Expressions, Pipelines, I/O Redirection
  • Network Configuration and Troubleshooting
  • Managing Simple Partions & filesystems.
  • Managing Flexible Storage with LMV
  • Access Network File Sharing Services;NFS and CIFS
  • Managing user accounts
  • Network User Accounts with LDAP
  • Controlling Access to files
  • Managing Installed Services
  • Analysing and Storing Logs
  • Managing Processes
  • Tuning and Maintaining the kernal
  • System Recovery Techniques

RH254 Red Hat System Administration III

  • Enhance User Security
  • Bash Scripting and Tools
  • File Security with GnuPG
  • Software Management
  • Network Monitoring
  • NTP Server Configuration
  • Filesystems and Logs
  • Centralized and Secure storage
  • SSL-encapsulated Web services
  • Web Server Additional Configuration
  • Basic SMTP Configuration
  • Caching-only DNS Server
  • File Sharing with NFS
  • File Sharing with CIFS
  • Troubleshooting Boot Processes
  • File Sharing with FTP